Release 0.2

April 2, 2012 at 5:29 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

In my 0.1 release, I successfully packaged RubyWarrior, with the help of my Prof. Chris Tyler.  For this milestone I will be attempting to package KidsRuby. As stated in my previous blog ( Release 0.1), I had to grab the source code from KidsRuby website. Once downloaded, I read the README file to see how to run it. I realized that it needs a few other packages to be installed before it can be ran. Qt4-devel, ruby and rubygems are some of the additional software needed.

Once the additional files were installed I was able to run it by typing the follow command: ruby main.rb

After testing the software, its now time for me to create my spec file. I followed the spec file from my RubyWarrior package. After using rpmbuild -ba kidsruby.spec to build my package, I made sure there were no errors in my spec file and rpm files…. everything looks okay. Before uploading the newly created RPM files to my matrix account, I ran it through mock and koji and all was well.

Below are the links to my  spec file, RPM’s and my project parent folder (All files are stored on my Matrix account).

Project Parent Folder

KidsRuby Spec File

KidsRuby – No Arch RPM

KidsRuby – Source RPM

When trying to install my newly created KidsRuby RPM I was getting some errors; I believe I have to make a patch file to edit one of the files needed for the program to run. Also I have to get my desktop icon to actually work and open the actual KidsRuby program. As of right now the desktop icon doesn’t do anything.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.